BOSTON – September 3, 2020 – In a primary season marked by unprecedented changes, more women are poised to take the helm of county, state, and federal governments in communities across the Commonwealth. The Massachusetts Women’s Political Caucus Political Action Committee (MWPC PAC) proudly extends its congratulations to thirty-six of our forty-seven endorsed candidates, or roughly 77%, on their victories.

In the 17th Middlesex district, Vanna Howard unseated Rep. David Nangle and Erika Uyterhoeven in the 27th Middlesex district, Brandy Fluker-Oakley in the 12th Suffolk district, Jessica Giannino in the 16th Suffolk District, and Patricia Duffy in the 5th Hampden District all won open seats. The wins push the needle forward for representation in the state legislature, where 29% is female.

“We are making great strides towards gender parity as 36 out of 47 MWPC PAC endorsed candidates with preliminaries advance to the general election,” said Caitlyn Clarke, MWPC PAC Co-Chair. “With Massachusetts sitting at 27th in the nation for representation of women in elected office, there is still a tremendous amount of work to be done, and we look forward to the future successes of this incredible group of women.”


The MWPC PAC congratulates the following women on their primary victories!
* denotes re-endorsement


7th Congressional District: Ayanna Pressley (Incumbent)*


Norfolk, Bristol, & Middlesex: Becca Rausch (Incumbent)*
2nd Middlesex: Patricia Jehlen (Incumbent)*
Hampshire, Franklin, & Worcester: Jo Comerford (Incumbent)
Plymouth & Norfolk: Meg Wheeler


1st Essex: Amber Hewett
2nd Essex: Christina Eckert*
13th Essex: Sally Kerans
14th Essex: Christina Minicucci (Incumbent)*
18th Essex: Tram Nguyen (Incumbent)*
5th Hampden: Patricia Duffy
1st Middlesex: Deb Lloyd Busser
6th Middlesex: Maria Robinson (Incumbent)*
11th Middlesex: Kay Khan (Incumbent)*
14th Middlesex: Tami Gouveia (Incumbent)*
15th Middlesex: Michelle Ciccolo (Incumbent)*
17th Middlesex: Vanna Howard
27th Middlesex: Erika Uyterhoeven
32nd Middlesex: Kate Lipper-Garabedian (Incumbent)
34th Middlesex: Christine Barber (Incumbent)*
3rd Bristol: Carol Doherty (Incumbent)
5th Suffolk: Liz Miranda (Incumbent)*
11th Suffolk: Elizabeth Malia (Incumbent)*
12th Suffolk: Brandy Fluker Oakley
16th Suffolk: Jessica Giannino
1st Worcester: Harriette Chandler (Incumbent)*
4th Worcester: Natalie Higgins (Incumbent)*
11th Worcester: Hannah Kane (Incumbent)*
1st Hampshire: Lindsay Sabadosa (Incumbent)*
3rd Hampshire: Mindy Domb (Incumbent)*
1st Franklin: Natalie Blais (Incumbent)*
3rd Berkshire: Tricia Farley-Bouvier (Incumbent)*
4th Barnstable: Sarah Peake (Incumbent)*
12th Plymouth: Kathleen LaNatra (Incumbent)*
3rd Plymouth: Joan Meschino (Incumbent)*


Lori A. Landers-Carvalho, Hampden County