The MWPC introduced the Good Guys award in 2002 to honor men who demonstrated an ongoing commitment and partnership in achieving equality for women. This award recognizes that our goal of attaining parity in politics and equality in American society can only be reached through the concerted efforts of men and women in all areas of professional life. Award recipients are men who have demonstrated through their work and/or their community activism a firm commitment to the realization of equal political, economic, and social rights for women.


2002 – 2018


Joshua Bekenstein
Co-Chair, Bain Capital

John B. Cruz III
President & CEO. Cruz Companies

The Honorable Joseph Kennedy III
U.S. Representative, MA 4th Congressional District

Edward A. Palleschi
Deputy Chief Secretary of Boards and Commissions, Office of Governor Charlie Baker

Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
recipient of the inaugural Corporate Champion award


The Honorable Martin J. Walsh
Mayor, City of Boston


The Honorable Brian Dempsey
State Representative, Haverhill, and Chairman, House Ways and Means Committee

Steven W. Tompkins
Suffolk County Sheriff

The Honorable Brian Lees
Recipient, Senator Edward Brooke Distinguished Service Award, former State Senator, First Hampden/Hampshire District

Andrew Dreyfus
President and Chief Executive Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield MA

Jim Rooney
President and Chief Executive Officer, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Steven Wright
Executive Partner, Holland & Knight LLP


The Honorable William “Mo” Cowan
former U.S. Senator, Managing Partner, Mintz Levin

The Honorable Ben Downing
State Senator

Robert Lewis
Founder and President, The BASE and Boston Astros

Robert Rivers
President and COO, Eastern Bank

James Norton
Vice President, General Dynamics Mission Systems

Joshua Boger
PhD, Founder Vertex Pharmaceuticals


The Honorable Francis X. Bellotti
Former Lt. Governor and Attorney General, Commonwealth of Mass.

Richard Taylor
Chairman, Taylor-Smith Company and Executive in Residence, Suffolk University

The Honorable Stanley Rosenberg
Majority Leader, Massachusetts State Senate

Richard Kelleher
Principal/Chief Executive Officer, Pyramid Hotel Group

Mark Reilly
Senior Vice President, Comcast, Northeast Division

Leverett Wing
Associate Director, Community Services, Comm. of MA Dept. Housing Community Development and former Executive Director of Asian & Pacific Islander American Vote


The Honorable Deval L. Patrick
Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

The Honorable Richard Tisei
Minority Leader, Massachusetts State Senate

The Honorable Steven A. Tolman
President, MA AFL-CIO, and former State Senator

John E. Rosenthal
Stop Handgun Violence

Jerry Sargent
President, Citizens Bank Massachusetts

Peter H. Smyth
Chaiman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Greater Media


The Honorable Thomas M. Menino
Mayor, City of Boston

The Honorable Byron Rushing
State Representative and Majority Whip, MA House of Representatives

John Hailer
President and Chief Executive Officer, Natixis Global Asset Management

John Heerwagen
Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Middlesex Savings Bank

James Stergios
Executive Director, Pioneer Institute

Phillip W. Johnston
Former Chairman, MA Democratic Party and President Phillip W. Johnston Associates


The Honorable Edward W. Brooke
Lifetime Achievement Award, former U.S. Senator

The Honorable Frederick E. Berry
Majority Leader, MA State Senate

Chancellor J. Keith Motley
University of Massachusetts-Boston

Paul Grogan
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Boston Foundation

Stephen M. Weiner
Attorney, Mintz Levin


The Honorable John F. Kerry
U.S. Senator, Recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award

The Honorable Robert DeLeo
Speaker, MA House of Representatives

The Honorable Frank Cousins, Jr.
Essex County Sheriff

Gregory Torres
President, MassINC

Rick Rendon
Founder and President, Empower Peace


The Honorable Edward M. Kennedy
U.S. Senator, Recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award

The Honorable Barney Frank
U.S. Representative

The Honorable William F. Weld
Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts


The Honorable Argeo Paul Cellucci
Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Louis Ciavarra
Managing Partner, Bowditch and Dewey LLP

Robert Coard
President and CEO, Action for Boston Community Development, Inc.

Peter Meade
Executive Vice President, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts


Joseph P. Campanelli
President and CEO, Sovereign Bank

Fairman Cowan
Partner, Bowditch and Dewey (ret.)

Paul Lee Parter
Goodwin Proctor, LLP

James Roosevelt, Jr.
President and CEO, Tufts Health Plan


Frank Hatch
Chair, John Merck Foundation

Tripp Jones
Senior Vice President and CAO, The MENTOR Network

Professor Charles J. Ogletree Jr.
Executive Director, Charles Hamilton Houston Institute for Peace & Justice, Harvard Law School

Thomas P. O’Neill, III
CEO, O’Neill And Associates


Chris Gabrieli
Chairman, Massachusetts 2020

Paul Levy
CEO, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Jack Regan
Partner and Public Service Committee Co-Chair

Wilmer Cutler
Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP


Wayne A. Budd
Executive Vice President and General Counsel, John Hancock Financial Services. Inc.

Aaron Feuerstein
CEO, Malden Mills Industries, Inc.

Hubie Jones
Social Justice Entrepreneur for City Year, Dean Emeritus, BU School of Management

Dan Wolf
President and CEO, Cape Air/Nantucket Airlines


Paul Guzzi
President & CEO of the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Ralph Harriman
Business Manager/Secretary-Treasurer Painters & Allied Trades District Council 35

George Russell
Executive Vice-President of State Street Corporation

William Saltonstall
former State Senator


Charlie Baker
President & CEO of Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Richard Gamble
Leader of Family Planning Initiatives

Ralph Martin
Partner, Bingham McCutcheon LLC & former Suffolk County District Attorney